Mitch Cohen

Mitch Cohen

Apple swag collection

A Twitter contest sponsored by Nami ML has prompted me to collect a small amount of my old Apple swag for a photo.

First, the full photo:

IMG 3448

Details, with description beneath each photo:

IMG 3430

The Apple Directors Chair was either a free item or something I won in a sales contest, when I worked at an Apple reseller from 1988-1992.

Seated on the chair is the full set of six DVD’s from WWDC 2002.

IMG 3432

Closeup of the DVD set.

IMG 3433

MacTech/Developer Depot T-shirt.  Swag from a Macworld Expo, probably Boston in the late 1980’s.

IMG 3434

Boris t-shirt, swag from a Macworld Expo, maybe 1991.  Boris was an After Dark screensaver module.  The publisher, Berkeley Systems, was tossing them out from their booth.

IMG 3368

Not in the master photo above, but related - a Flying Toasters tie.  Another After Dark module.  I don’t remember if this swag was a give-away from the same Macworld Expo as the Boris shirt or not.  It’s a good tie too.

IMG 3435

Lucy & Dezi Think Different poster.  I have several others, but this is the only one I currently have framed and hung.  This is always on this wall, in our family room.

IMG 3437

One of my favorite pieces of memorabilia, a Macintosh Plus hanging sign.  I got this when I worked at the Apple reseller mentioned above.  The strings on top are the same strings that it hung from the store’s ceiling.

To the left, my Reach for an Apple long-sleeve t-shirt.  Apple had a reseller sales contest in 1989 or 1990, called Reach for an Apple.  I was the store’s token Mac geek, so I was given all the customers interested in Macs and sold a ton.  The shirt was the entry prize.  I also won the top prize, a Macintosh Iici.  While that would have been great for the photo, it’s currently in my parents’ house where they have a smallish “computer museum” in the basement.

IMG 3438

A 2002 iMac G4, to go with the 2002 DVD set.  It powers on, but has a dead hard drive.

IMG 3440

Blinking question-mark icon, sign of an unbootable hard drive.  You can bet I’ll get this working, so I can play with the WWDC 2002 DVD set!

IMG 3442

A MacAlly iKey (original Bondi Blue model), a popular third-party keyboard of the time.  Also, an Apple mouse from (I think) a PowerMac G4.

I also have an Apple "Apology Mouse” and box from the 2000 Macworld Expo/NYC but couldn’t find it quickly enough for the photo.

IMG 3444

Ancient Apple cup, and Claris coffee mug.  I had to include Claris here.

IMG 3445

My favorite Apple collectable, a working Authorized Dealer lamp.

IMG 3367

Better photo of the Authorized Dealer lamp.

IMG 3450

Apple “1984-2004” poster.  Apple added an iPod to the classic “1984” commercial in 2004.  I don’t think they ran it as an ad, but they did released it online.  They also printed this poster, which they gave away at the Macworld Expo/San Francisco that year.

I have lots of other old Apple stuff, but this is what I could gather quickly.  I’ll bet I have 50 t-shirts, plus swag from 12 WWDC’s and who the heck knows what else.

Thanks for reading!